bigwolfoncampus.org | Episodes | Reviews |
bigwolfoncampus.org » episodes » reviews » ray

Baby On Board

As I already stated in my review for "N'Sipid," I don't think space aliens fit well into this show's hall of villains. Also, a lot of weird stuff as happened to Merton over the course of this series, but getting pregnant was just too much. (There's something very disturbing about the thought of a pregnant male). And since when does Tommy hit on old women? Or any women for that matter? That was so out of character for him. I'll give the episode 3 points because Lori looked particularly pretty, but that's it. (3/10)
· by Ray; posted January 27th, 2004

The Bookmobile

The villainess in this episode was a little bland and uninteresting, but that whole "Window of Transference" plot-line just made the story soar. It's too bad the next window won't open until 2069, for there could have been a great sequel episode a few seasons later. Funniest moments? Merton's British accent and Tommy's belief that the airplane was invented by Wilbur and Orville Redenbacher. (9/10)
· by Ray; posted December 3rd, 2003

The Boy Who Tried Wolf

An earlier reviewer of this episode offered an explanation for why Merton became an evil werewolf, whereas Tommy remains good. I'd now like to offer my own explanation, which I think makes far more sense: For starters, back in the "Bookmobile" episode, it was made clear that Merton really wanted to be a werewolf, whereas as Tommy did not. In this current Season 3 episode, Merton's werewolf-ism made him popular with the girls and allowed him to fend off bullies. So, it's perfectly understandable that he wanted to stay that way. Tommy, on the other hand, never had bully-problems and was already popular with girls prior to his werewolf days. As a result, his greatest fear was that he'd become unpopular if people learned his secret. (This, of course, is why he wanted the werewolf-ism gone). Hence, it would appear that the desire to be a werewolf is what makes a person evil, whereas the desire to NOT be a werewolf causes the person to remain good. Support for this may seen with Evil Lori's desire to continuing transforming in "Manchurian Werewolf" or the evil Mr. Dunleavy's love for lycanthropy in "Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow." If Merton had no problems with bullies and didn't need werewolf-ism to be popular with girls, then I seriously doubt he would have become evil. Yet, regardless of this perfectly rational explanation for why Merton went evil, I was still disappointed that it happened. I would have much preferred to see Merton overcome the evil urges and remain good, thus allowing him and Tommy to become a crime-fighting werewolf duo.
· by Ray; posted January 27th, 2004

Cat Woman

Very funny episode. For me, the best scene was where Merton is trying to teach Tim and Travis about evolution and, after observing their behavior, reiterates that "this is all theoretical." It's funny because it's true. Bible Class, anyone? (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 29th, 2004

Clip Show: The Kiss Of Death

This episode made me mad. I was so ticked off that this episode didn't feature clips of Merton defeating villains. For I can think of several examples off the top of my head. One, of course, would be his defeating of Santini in "Stage Fright." Another would be the episode "Witch College" where he saves Tommy and Stacey by tricking the witches into turning on each other. I also recall "The Bookmobile" where the Librarian was kicking Tommy's butt and Merton saved him by flipping on the stereo which turned the Librarian back to her old and weak self. As for Season Two examples, it was Merton who had the means with which to cast the evil out of Cerberus and to reverse Lori's evil werewolf-ism. It was also Merton who ultimately defeated the cyborg Mr. Geiger with a computer virus. There are even more examples I could list, but I think you get the point. And, aside from helping Tommy defeat many of the bad guys, Merton also helped his buddy calm down and de-wolf before anyone saw him. Examples of this can be found in episodes like "The Bookmobile" and "Hello Nasty." Merton also proved himself to be a great friend in "Voodoo Child" by helping Tommy and Lori prepare for their oral presentation, for which they got an A. But were any of those clips shown? It really bugged me that all the 'Merton' clips in this episode were set up to portray the guy as a dim-witted and wimpy coward. Did the writers forget about episodes like "Mr. Roboto" and "Blame It on the Haim" where Merton summed up the courage to try and destroy the villain all by himself? The other thing that annoyed me about this episode was Death's reason for showing up in the first place -- he was "owed a soul." If a soul was all that Death wanted, why couldn't he have just re-attempted to take the old man that Tommy rescued from him in the first place? If I could remove one episode from the BWOC canon, it would be this one. (1/10)
· by Ray; posted December 3rd, 2003

Dances Without Wolves

Did anyone happen to notice that in the Alternate Universe, there was a Goth girl who was totally hot for Merton? (She wrote "I ♥ YOU" on her eyelids and kept flashing them at him – and he giddily acknowledged it). Where is she in the other universe? This, along with other questions that were asked by earlier reviewers, forces me to believe that Tommy didn't actually travel to an alternate universe, but that the whole thing was just a dream that some higher power instantly implanted into his mind. It's the only way this episode can make any logical sense. With that issue cleared up, I'd say the episode was pretty good. (8/10)
· by Ray; posted January 17th, 2004

Don't Fear The Reaper

This episode was great because it portrayed Merton in a very positive light. For not only was it Merton who came up with the plan to fool Death, but his Shakespeare play was a huge success. In later episodes, Merton's attempts at success and popularity fall flat and he ends up looking like a total loser (e.g., his TV show in Season 3's "Switch Me Baby One More Time"). But in episodes like this, Merton comes off appearing to be as popular as Tommy, and that makes me glad. Merton's a hard worker and brillant kid, and he deserves to be popular. Ten points all the way. (10/10)
· by Ray; posted April 14th, 2004

Everybody Fang Chung Tonight

One of the earlier reviewers to this episode complained that, at the end of the show, Cassandra the vampire had a reflection when she didn't have one before. I would therefore like to provide a theory for why her reflection became visible in this scene: Basically, a vampire's lack of reflection has something to do with his or her aura. If a vampire goes a certain length of time without blood, this aura will become weakened, thus causing his or her reflection to become visible. In Cassandra's case, it had been a while since she had her last dose of werewolf blood, and so her aura must have weakened to this point thus causing her to regain a reflection. Ta-Da! Having cleared that up, my rating for this episode is a perfect ten. It had comedy, romance, serious moments, a great fight scene, character development, and a sequel episode (i.e., "Thanks"). What more could a BWOC fan ask for? If there's ever to be a fourth season of the show, I hope Cassandra will return and that Merton will find some way of reversing her vampirism so that they can be together. Perhaps Maxwell Fong (from "Stone Free") could use his knowledge of the dark arts to resurrect the vampire who transformed her so that she can stake him herself and return to normal. (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 17th, 2004

Flügelhoff!

Aside from having a good story-line, this episode was great because Merton was presented as being very brave. Oh sure, he gets his butt kicked by Helga, but at least he had the courage to fight her in an attempt to retrieve the serum. In other episodes, Merton is portrayed as a coward who runs from danger, but this episode shows that he is actually very capable of showing bravery when the situation demands it. You da man, Merton! (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 28th, 2004

Gone Tomorrow Hair Today

In the epilogue segment of this episode, Tommy said that he and Merton never heard from Mr. Dunleavy again. I wonder if that means that the guy has since been killed by Muffy the Werewolf Slayer? That wouldn't surprise me. On a seperate thought, this episode was good because it explained how and why Tommy came to be a werewolf. If we fans never learned who or what that wolf in the forest was, the question would have haunted many us all throughout the series. (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 29th, 2004

Hellection

I would have given this episode a perfect 10/10 had it not been for the epilogue segment where Hilary still decided to cut the funding for Merton's Gothic Fantasy Guild. This scene made me mad. I mean, she was obviously very grateful to him in the previous scene where he saved her, and it looked as they would actually end up getting back together. So what happened? She should have thanked Merton by sparing the Guild. But she didn't, and so I'm only giving the episode a 7/10. (7/10)
· by Ray; posted December 3rd, 2003

I Dream Of Becky

A question that has been asked in regards to this episode is "How could the bottle have been in Becky's locker and in her purse at the same time?" The answer is simple: It wasn't. It is most probable that some time passed between the scene where Merton and Lori found the bottle in Becky's locker (and left it there) and the following scene where the bottle was in Becky's purse. Most certainly, Becky came to her locker after Merton and Lori left and she picked it up then. As for my thoughts on the rest of the episode, I thought it was good because it had some funny lines and because (like in "Scary Terri") we got to see how loyal and protective Merton is of his baby sister. As for the Genie, I can see why some reviewers said that they found him annoying, but what were they expecting? Robin Williams? (8/10)
· by Ray; posted January 17th, 2004

Imaginary Fiend

I'd like to philosophize about Vince for a moment if I may. Was he truly spawned for Merton's imagination? I think not. I think that Vince was actually some sort of mischievous and unstable god who was just pretending to be the young Goth's imaginary friend for whatever the reason. This would explain why he could inflict harm on others and why he could be seen by anyone who believed he was real. It would also explain how he was able to go off and become someone else's imaginary friend at the end. If there is ever to be a Season 4 of BWOC, I think that Vince should return so that Tommy, Merton, and Lori can figure out where he actually came from so that they can get rid of him for good. (Such a story could easily work if the new kid whom Vince befriended turned out to be Tommy's or Merton's cousin).
· by Ray; posted April 16th, 2004

The Mertonator

According to the good cyborg, Tommy works alone in the future and no one is familiar with Merton. This means that either Merton dies in the future or something happens to make him evil (again). Sadly, the latter seems more plausible since the Mertonator was modelled after Merton -- both physically and personality-wise. In other words, it would seem that Merton's future self was responsible for building and sending the Mertonator to kill Tommy. Thus, this episode demands a sequel story in which this future gets altered in such a way that Merton lives and remains Tommy's faithful (and good) sidekick. The reason I demand such a story is because a future where Merton is dead or permanently evil is not a future that I want to see. If there isn't going to be a Season Four with which to tell this sequel story, then somebody please write a novel. As for the present episode, I found it fast-paced and I liked how it was Merton who officially destroyed the Mertonator. If it weren't for the currently unanswered questions about the future, I'd give this episode a perfect 10. But because the episode calls us to foresee a future where Merton is either dead or evil, I'm only giving it a 6. (6/10)
· by Ray; posted January 17th, 2004

N'Sipid

I have two quibbles with this episode: First, up until this point in the series, our heroes have been fighting supernatural beings of satanic origin (e.g., witches, vampires, demons, etc.) and the occasional mad scientist. For me, space aliens just don't seem to fit in well with this show's hall of villains. This episode would have worked better if Boylicious had been an evil cult who was kidnapping young girls to sacrifice to their gods. Secondly, from the dialogue in this episode, it was made clear that Becky was not the first girl who Boylicious had kidnapped, and that numerous other girls had already been sent to the alien homeworld. Yet, Becky was the only girl who was rescued, meaning that there are still other girls trapped on another planet being raped by lizard-people. (I find this both a sad and scary thought). Merton should have programmed the transporter to bring back all the kidnapped girls, and not just Becky. As well, with the way this episode ended (i.e., with Boylicious being transported back to their homeworld), I am left with the thought that these aliens might come back to try again. (Sequel?) On a more positive note, however, this episode shows just how much Merton really cares about the safety of his kid-sister and how far he will go to rescue her. And so, because this episode shows us just how great a brother Merton is, I'll be generous and let my rating slide by with a seven. (7/10)
· by Ray; posted January 27th, 2004

Pleased To Eat You

In the Season One episode of "Cat Woman," there was a scene where Merton was drinking milk, but here in this present episode, there was a scene where he claimed to be lactose-intolerant. So, here are two possible explanations with which to address this discrepancy: [1] Merton lied about being lactose-intolerant because he felt uncomfortable about drinking the spider-people's nectar. [2] Merton is actually semi-lactose-intolerant and can drink a small portion each day. (This is implied in the Season One episode "Butch Comes to Shove" where Merton states that he "didn't drink 'much' milk as a child"). As well, in "Catwoman," we only saw Merton drink one mouthful of the stuff. Thus, in this present episode, he probably feared that the spider-people's nectar contained a large amount of milk, which is why he asked if there was any at all. Moving on now, I was a little confused about the epilogue segment: Here, Tommy said in his voiceover narration that he didn't expect to hear from the spider-people again because an exterminator was sent over to their den to wipe them out. Yet, what I saw on-screen during that narration was a dead man hanging from the giant cobwebs. Does this mean that the spider-people killed the exterminator and got away?
· by Ray; posted January 19th, 2004

Stage Fright

Any episode where Merton saves Tommy and/or defeats the bad guy deserves top marks in my opinion. P.S., Chunky's theme rocked! I wish the BWOC series had featured more songs performed by Danny/Merton. (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 21st, 2004

The Sum Of All Fears

This clip show was great. I loved seeing the deleted scenes and the bloopers. However, I'm not sure I agree with a couple of the viewers' choices for best female villain. For starters, I don't think Muffy the Werewolf Slayer should have been voted among the top five best female villains -- let alone be voted #1 -- because she wasn't really a villain at all. Her job was to kill evil werewolves, and she let Tommy live when she discovered that he was good. Likewise, I'm not sure if Cassandra the werewolf-eating vampire, who took fourth place, should be regarded as a villain either. For if she didn't need werewolf blood to live, things would have worked out between her and Merton, and she could have easily joined the cast as a regular and fought the bad guys along 'side Tommy. Personally, I think the spot of fourth best female villain should have gone to Hyacinthe Thistlethorpe from "Save The Last Trance." As for the spot of #1 best female villain, I would have given that to none other than Evil Werewolf Lori. Yet, since the viewers' choices had no effect on the way this clip show was put together, I'll still give it a perfect rating. Rock on! (10/10)
· by Ray; posted January 17th, 2004

Switch Me Baby One More Time

Although it was nice to have a Lori-story, I think that a plot involving a body-jumper would have been more exciting if the jumper stole Tommy's body instead. As for the sub-plot with Merton's TV show, it had a couple funny moments but ultimately (for me anyway) made Merton look like a total loser when his show got a horrible review, drew zero viewers, and was quickly cancelled. There was also a scene where some girl furiously told Merton to never talk to her friend again. (What was the story behind that?) Lastly, although it was nice seeing Maxwell Fong again, his new "Champion" (a face-eating wombat) was just a little too weird for my taste. Sorry friends, but this episode has to get a 'thumbs down' rating from me. (3/10)
· by Ray; posted April 14th, 2004

Mourning Corey What's The Story

Great episode. The Truth or Dare game was a brilliant scene, and I loved how it was Merton who staked Corey Feldman. One quibble though: At Feldman's party, there were several dozen vampires, yet only Feldman and two other vampires got staked at the episode's end. What happened to all the others? The episode should have been written so that Tommy, Merton, and Lori wiped out the entire ensemble of vampires before facing off against Feldman. Other than that, the episode was well done. On a side note, I'd just like to say that I thought Corey Feldman made a much better vampire than Corey Haim. (9/10)
· by Ray; posted January 18th, 2004